Skip to main content

Recurring tasks lock when copied to complete early

This one took a while to figure out.

Let's say I have an existing recurring task, let's say it repeats every Saturday, and I want to instead complete it early.

Per the advice below, which does work, I can drag the Saturday recurrence to an earlier day (say, Thursday). Now, I can complete both the sub-tasks within the task and the task itself in the new Thursday copy.

However, and this is the confusing part, the task from which I calved off the Thursday copy (i.e., the main Saturday task) is mirroring the changes I make in the Thursday copy. Further, the Saturday task is no longer editable. This is unexpected.

If you wait a day (now it is Friday), the Saturday task "unlocks" and "resets". By this I mean it is both editable again, and the checkboxes for the task and sub-task no longer mirror the Thursday copy's state.

This behavior is a bit confusing, to say the least. For now, I can manually drag a task to make a copy and then wait a day to have the original behave normally. However, the experience is confusing and could be improved by separating the behavior of the original and the copy at the time the latter is created.

1 comment

Log in to comment and vote

Comments1

  • Teal Muffin

    •

    Aug 24

    Just to put this a bit more succinctly: when you create a copy of a task, any task, it seems to stay linked to the original. That is the confusing part. If you do complete the linked copy, it stays linked. Until the next day, when the original now seems to reset and can be used normally again. You can do this with any repeating task (that is not selected to also be a habit).

    Expected behavior: copy of a task operates independently from its original the moment it is created.

    Happy to explain further.